As the semester winds to a close, I’m a bit preoccupied with finals-related work. That means less posting here, but I’m trying to at least keep an eye on the news.

One piece I noticed this morning was the backlash against the self-appointed anti-health care reform spokesman, Rick Scott.

VideoCafe has a clip of Rachel Maddow’s take (via Crooks & Liars).

Rick Scott, as Maddow et al point out, is the currently out-of-work hospital CEO who was forced to resign after it came to light that his for-profit hospital chain had a habit of defrauding the government out of hundreds of millions of dollars. The company was fined $1.7 billion, and Scott left in shame with a $10 million golden parachute.

And he’s the guy leading the charge against health care reform. I suppose if I had made gajillions of dollars off a broken system, I’d be interested in making sure it stayed broken, too.

